top of page
  • Akanksha Kumar

Finishing Up Interviews (11/1/2020)

This past week, I had two more interviews, which means I have had five interviews total. The two people I interviewed both worked at Collin County Courthouse. Since they were newer attorneys, they worked in misdemeanor departments. I thought it was really interesting to hear from attorneys who are relatively early in their careers, as their perspectives greatly differ from the research I do or when I talked to more experienced professionals. One of the ADA’s explained he worked in the domestic abuse misdemeanor department, and I was intrigued to hear more about it because I didn't know that some cases of domestic abuse could be misdemeanors. He explained how these cases consist of issues like shoving, hair pulling, and slapping, and they were important to address in court because by punishing these smaller offenses, larger and more extreme measures could be stopped. He explained that convincing the jury on these could often be difficult because they liked to put themselves in the criminals' shoes, and they wouldn’t want to be charged or convicted for pushing someone. To overcome this obstacle, he explained how he would establish the relationship the defendant had with the victim, and explain how or why this action was dangerous and needed to be stopped before the situation would have time to escalate. Overall, I found his interview very interesting, as it gave me exposure to the fact that even as a younger attorney working in misdemeanor trial courts, I can fight for issues I strongly support. 



4 views

Recent Posts

See All

Rapidly Working (4/12/2021)

This past week, all I did was basically start my finalizations for the project. Up till now, I had been doing a lot of research on how to...

Writing Lots of Questions 4/5/2021

This past week, I was not able to meet with my mentor, because we both were busy and couldn’t find time to make our schedules align. So...

Slow Week (2/22/2021)

This past week, all of Texas was snowed out. Unfortunately, my family did not have power in the house for longer than 20 minute...

Comments


bottom of page