top of page
  • Akanksha Kumar

Rethinking Final Product (2/1/2021)

This past week, I was able to put together my proposal that was due for my Final Product. I wrote and submitted it, but wasn’t able to have a meeting with my mentor quite yet. For my assessment, I researched pretrial diversion programs, something my mentor and I had previously researched. They are programs that defendants can apply to when they make a please bargain and receive probation. As someone who has been studying the career field that sends those who commit crimes to jail, there are many instances where I believe that people deserve second chances without jail time, due to their circumstances. In fact, the whole reason I am so interested in studying the job of an Assistant District Attorney is so I can understand why the system is so so harsh on specific people who have just had unfortunate circumstances that lead them to trouble with the law. I know that there are many people who come from rough backgrounds, with parents not always available for guidance, or surrounded by gangs, crimes, and drugs. Living in such an environment, especially during key development years, makes it difficult to always stay on the correct path. I am a strong believer in second chances for reform, and thankfully, states are starting to believe in those too. In fact, I might even discuss with my mentor and Coach Goff if I should do something in relation to this for my final product.



0 views

Recent Posts

See All

Rapidly Working (4/12/2021)

This past week, all I did was basically start my finalizations for the project. Up till now, I had been doing a lot of research on how to...

Writing Lots of Questions 4/5/2021

This past week, I was not able to meet with my mentor, because we both were busy and couldn’t find time to make our schedules align. So...

Slow Week (2/22/2021)

This past week, all of Texas was snowed out. Unfortunately, my family did not have power in the house for longer than 20 minute...

Comments


bottom of page