top of page
  • Akanksha Kumar

Starting Final Product (2/8/2021)

This past week I finally was able to figure out what exactly and specifically is happening for my original work. I first decided that I should stick with the first original idea for my final product, which was to take a white collar case, do the research needed, and create a plan of prosecution for it. I was thinking of changing it to creating a pretrial diversion program, but decided not to because there already is a really good one in Collin County, and it woudln;t really be an original piece of work if I ended up copying or even creating what's already there. Additionally, I was able to meet with Ms. Gillman, my mentor, who gave me a small case file for a white collar case she found. The packet was just three sheets that included an indictment, and two offense reports. Though the wording was a bit confusing, I was able to glean that someone from a roofing company is stealing money from his clients. Ms. Gillman explained how the most difficult part of this case would be proving to the jury that this case belongs in a criminal court, not a civil one, since most white collar cases are dealt with in civil court. To do this, I have to prove that a law or several laws were broken. Ms. Gillman explained how my first step will be to read the Texas Penal Code on theft, so I can figure out what laws were broken and how to find and present evidence for it. Overall, I am glad to now have a case and a solid pathway for what to do, major thanks to my mentor for that.



3 views

Recent Posts

See All

Rapidly Working (4/12/2021)

This past week, all I did was basically start my finalizations for the project. Up till now, I had been doing a lot of research on how to...

Writing Lots of Questions 4/5/2021

This past week, I was not able to meet with my mentor, because we both were busy and couldn’t find time to make our schedules align. So...

Slow Week (2/22/2021)

This past week, all of Texas was snowed out. Unfortunately, my family did not have power in the house for longer than 20 minute...

Comments


bottom of page